The Long Riders' Guild

The History of Equestrian Travel

The four greatest Long Riders.  Clockwise from top left: Dmitri Peshkov, Baron Yasumasa Fukushima, Roger Pocock and Aimé Tschiffely

In the year 2000, CuChullaine wrote a History of Equestrian Travel as it was then known.

Since then, diligent research has uncovered more facts, more amazing journeys, and more intrepid Long Riders from the past.

Here then is an updated History of Equestrian travel, written by Basha O'Reilly in 2012. 


Click here to see the world's largest collection 
of Equestrian Travel Books!

Back to Home page

The Long Riders' Guild -

The home of the world's saddle-borne Argonauts!